Sweet

Granola

 

20160328_175923-1

Ok so this is a bit of an ‘extra’ post as I was out of granola today so needed to make more. I never buy ready made as its so easy to make and you can add any additional things you like, once the main ingredients are cooked. I’d never made my own until I got Davina’s 5 weeks to sugar free last year – clearly from all the baking on here I am far from sugar free but I tend to go along the lines of everything in moderation instead! As I do from time to time, I got bored with the usual cereal for breakfast and fancied a change – I haven’t tired of this yet though.

As usual, ingredients first

  • 250g jumbo oats
  • 50g desiccated or flaked coconut
  • 150g nuts, lightly crushed into pieces (Davina recommends almonds but I buy a bag of chopped, mixed nuts)
  • a pinch of salt (not sure why but I never add salt but its in the ‘original’ recipe)
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 egg white

Preheat the oven to 150C/130C fan/Gas 2 and line a large baking tray with greaseproof paper – or do as I do and use a non stick tray!

Put the oats, coconut and nuts (and salt) in a large mixing bowl then add the coconut oil (I melt this for about 20 seconds in the microwave as it has invariably set when I come to use it) and maple syrup then mix them all until everything is coated.

Separate your egg so that you have only the egg white*, whisk until its frothy and add to the oat mixture and give it another mix.

20160328_150244

Once this is done, pour onto the baking tray, evenly spread it out then put in the oven and bake for 40 – 50 minutes. I find 40 is enough in our fan oven but I turn it around at 20 minutes as one side seems to be hotter than the other – not sure if anyone else has this issue?! Anyway, once its light brown its pretty much done!

Once its cool, I add some pumpkin seeds before pouring it into a large kilner jar (any airtight jar is fine!). You could add extras at any time, I just choose to do this once its cooked and cooled. Maybe give some other seeds or grains a go. I have mine for breakfast with greek yoghurt and a handful of fresh blueberries.

*I never know what to do with the egg yolk I’m left with but today I attempted some mayonnaise using Delia’s recipe. Unfortunately it didn’t go to plan this time as I think I rushed it but I will definitely give it another go when I next make this granola!

 

One thought on “Granola

Leave a Reply

