Sweet

Salted Caramel Brownies

20160328_192913

I came across these when I googled Easter recipes…not sure what makes them ‘Easter-ish’ (ideas on a postcard please!) but once I found these I had to try them! When I thought about it, I realised I had never made brownies from scratch before – yes, I had made them from a packet once before – appalling behaviour I know. This recipe was from the Good Food website. Anyway I won’t ramble on, you will want to make these and quickly!

You will need:

  • 200g unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 100g chocolate, 70% cocoa solids
  • 100g chocolate, 50% cocoa solids
  • 397g can Carnation caramel
  • 1 tsp flaky sea salt, plus extra for the top
  • 200g golden caster sugar
  • 4 medium eggs, at room temperature
  • 130g plain flour
  • 50g cocoa powder

First, heat the oven to 180C/160C fan/Gas 4 and grease and line a 23cm (9in) square tin.

Melt the butter in a saucepan on a low/medium heat, add the chocolate then take the saucepan off the heat and wait for the chocolate to melt – give it a quick stir. The chocolate is quite specific on this recipe so I’m not sure what would happen if you used the same chocolate or a lower percentage. I used one bar at 72% cocoa (M Signature 72% Cocoa Dark Chocolate 100g)Β and another which was 50% (Morrisons Dark Chocolate 200g). I’m sure if you shop around you can find them, or an alternative, fairly easily.

Once this is done, mix 175g of the caramel with 1 tsp sea salt in a small bowl. Put the rest of the caramel in a mixing bowl with the sugar and eggs, and beat with an electric hand mixer until even – I’m sure you can use a stand mixer if you prefer. AddΒ in the chocolate and butter mixture and whisk again until its all incorporated then sift in the flour and cocoa, beating again until everything is well mixed and smooth.

Pour half the brownie batter into the tin (I used a silicone tray as my new square one hadn’t arrived in time) and level it with a spatula. Spoon half of the salted caramel mix on top of the batter layer and spread it lightly. Now, this is where I rushed and got ahead of myself – I put all the caramel in the middle and didn’t save any for the top, doh…but you try whichever you like! Spoon the rest of the brownie batter on top and smooth it out, trying not to disturb the caramel beneath. Top with the rest of the caramel (assuming you saved half) in a stripy fashion then drag a skewer or tip of a knife through the caramel to make a feathered pattern on the top.

Scatter with a little more sea salt (I didn’t add too much), then bake for 25-30 mins or until risen and with a firm crust on top. When its ready, the brownie will jiggle just a little when you shake the tin – it did, success!

20160328_175017.jpg

Once it was completely cooled, I cut into small squares (36 to be precise) and will take it to work tomorrow and see what the verdict is. Obviously we thought we best just check it was ok first, they are so yummy but I definitely couldn’t justify eating these every weekend! This has already been declared by my husband as one of his favourites though!

One thought on “Salted Caramel Brownies

Leave a Reply

