Savoury

Sun-dried Tomato and Parmesan Loaf

20160410_182931-1

I’ve only had chance for the one bake this weekend, well this afternoon really, so didn’t have time to try the sourdough bread again so decided to try this recipe that my Dad gave me. He’s really perfected the bread making now and he is going to attempt a sourdough this week. When I tried the one he made a couple of weeks ago I really wanted to give it a try myself. So, armed with my borrowed proving baskets and expertly advised timings, I set to work.

I’m not sure where the recipe was from so don’t have a link – if I get it then I will add it later.

  • 500g Strong white flour
  • 10g Salt (I only used about 2g and found it salty enough)
  • 7g Instant yeast
  • 30g Olive oil (from the sundried tomatoes)
  • 40g Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 75g Sundried tomatoes in oil
  • 3-4 Sprigs of rosemary (I used 2 tsp of dried)
  • 300g Warm water
  • Maldon sea salt

Combine the flour and salt in a large mixing bowl. Then, add the yeast, oil and parmesan and mix briefly – I used my stand mixer with dough hook attachment. Keeping the mixer going, slowly add the water to the bowl until all the ingredients have been incorporated.

Next turn it out onto a floured surface and knead it well and until the dough is soft and pliable. Just before you have finished kneading, add the rosemary and sundried tomatoes. I found that adding the rosemary was easy enough but it took me some time to make sure that the tomatoes were incorporated – I used the method of poking them in to the bread bit by bit before kneading it a little more. Then put it into a bowl to rest for 30 minutes.

20160410_152612-1.jpg

After 3 minutes, knock the dough back and then remould it into a loaf tin, cob, baton or bloomer. You can then put it into a tin or in a proving basket (I split the dough into two at this stage, one was to go into a tin when baking and the other on a baking stone). Cover the container with cling film and leave it to prove and double in size. The recipe states this should take 45 minutes but I left mine just over an hour.

When you are ready to bake, set your oven and bake the loaf or loaves, as follows:

  • Non fan oven – 220C for 10 minutes then 210C for 27 minutes
  • Fan oven – 220C for 10 minutes then 180C for 30 minutes

Before putting your tin or baking stone into the oven, sprinkle the top of the bread with a little maldon sea salt. If you are using a baking stone, leave it in the oven whilst it warms up then remove to turn out the loaf onto it.

20160410_173140

When the time is finished, take the loaf or loaves out of the oven and check for the hollow sound by tapping at the bottom. Then leave to cool, slice and enjoy!

20160410_181340-1

Leave a Reply

