Sweet

Chocolate Chip and Cinnamon Cookies

20160424_192805

I’ve been very poor in keeping up with the blog entries (sorry!) although rest assured I have continued with the baking! I wanted to have a change from cakes so after perusing some of my cook books (there are a few!), I stumbled across a couple of recipes I fancied trying, including this one. This was from my Baking Bible which was from M&S and has some lovely recipes in, this one just happened to catch my eye first!:

20160503_205816-1

Ingredients:

  • 225g / 8oz butter, softened
  • 140g / 5oz caster sugar
  • 1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
  • 2tsp orange extract
  • 280g / 10oz plain flour
  • pinch of salt (I guess this is optional – I never add salt!)
  • 100g / 3.5oz plain chocolate

Cinnamon coating

  • 1.5tbsp caster sugar
  • 1.5tbsp ground cinnamon

First preheat the oven to 190C/375F/Gas 5 (I have a fan oven so would probably stick to 170C or 180C) and line a couple of baking sheets with baking paper. Put the butter and sugar into a bowl and mix well – the recipe says with a wooden spoon but I used my stand mixer although I am sure a hand held mixer would also work. Next beat in the egg yolk and orange extract then sieve the flour into the mixture. Add the chocolate chips and stir until everything is combined.

20160424_144327 (1).jpg

Mix together the cinnamon coating by mixing the sugar and cinnamon in a shallow dish. Scoop out tablespoons of the dough, roll them into balls then roll them in the coating, making sure each one is covered well. Put them onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving sufficient room between each then pop them into the oven for 12-15 minutes – I found 12 minutes was enough for mine but it depends on the individual ovens!

 

Take them off the trays and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. I ended up with 32 cookies so needed 3 baking sheets! The cookies were a lovely texture, slightly crumbly but not too much, and the cinnamon sugar was a great finishing touch. With the orange extract, which I’d never used before, the taste was really subtle although I think they would be better labelled chocolate orange cookies!

One thought on “Chocolate Chip and Cinnamon Cookies

Leave a Reply

