Sweet

Lemon Chocolate Pinwheels

20160424_192542

I actually made these by accident when I made the chocolate chip and cinnamon cookies.Ā I’d bought ingredients to make some other biscuits which I will get round to making eventually but for some reason, maybe as I had the right ingredients, I made these instead! This recipe is also from the Baking Bible.

Ingredients

  • 350g / 12oz plain flour
  • 250g / 9oz caster sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 175g / 6oz butter, softened
  • 25g / 1oz plain chocolate, broken into pieces
  • Grated rind of 1 lemon

First, grease and flour several baking sheets – I think I ended up using 3 in the end! Cream together the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy then gradually add the beaten egg, beating well after each addition. Next, sift the flour into the bowl and mix it well until you have a soft dough and then you will need to split it equally and put half into another bowl.

Put the chocolate into a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water until its melted. Once its cooled slightly, mix into one half of the dough.

With the other half, mix in the grated lemon rind then roll out both doughs to the same (or similar as you can manage!) size and about 1cm and 5mm thick. Put the lemon dough on top of the chocolate dough and roll it up lightly using baking paper to guide – I laid both doughs onto the paper first and it really helped to roll it up although I went for a tighter roll in case it came apart! Chill the rolled dough in the fridge for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 190C/375F/Gas 5 and then slice the dough into biscuits – the recipe stated 40 but I got about 30 or so but depends how thick you slice the dough! Place them onto the baking sheets and bake for 10-12 minutes or until they are lightly golden. Leave them to cool completely before eating…if you can wait!

I’ve made these before a couple of years ago but they definitely worked out better this time, the lemon and chocolate combination worked really well although I may be tempted to try orange and chocolate in the future!

One thought on “Lemon Chocolate Pinwheels

Leave a Reply

