Sweet

Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

20160710_153031.jpg

I first made these a few years ago and they were a favourite straight away. Thinking back I’m not really sure how I came up with it but there are quite a few recipes around now – maybe they were always there but I’m sure I just winged it at the time! This recipe though doesn’t come from a website, its just what I did – if it appears somewhere else exactly the same though its honestly a coincidence!

Ingredients

For the cake

  • 100g / 4oz Butter / Baking spread (I used Stork)
  • 100g / 4oz Caster sugar
  • 100g / 4oz Self raising flour
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • Zest 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

For the decoration

  • Lemon curd
  • 1 Egg white
  • 50g / 2oz Caster sugar

First, preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4 and fill a muffin tray with fairy cake cases – I ended up with 16 cakes so used 2 trays or you can bake in batches.

Cream the butter and sugar together in the food mixer or by hand until its light and fluffy. Next add the eggs a little at a time until everything is mixed together then the lemon zest and juice – don’t forget if it seems to be curdling then add a little bit of the flour. I think the addition of the lemon makes it look a little curdled anyway so don’t worry if it looks strange! Finally add the flour and baking powder and fold in well until everything is incorporated. Once this is done, spoon the mixture evenly into the cake cases and put into the oven for 18 minutes or until golden brown.

When the cakes are cooled, cut out a little section in each and keep the tops to one side – try not to eat them….like me! Spoon about a teaspoon of lemon curd into each one and replace the tops. I used shop bought lemon curd but if you are feeling adventurous I’m sure you could make your own. Perhaps another recipe to try some time.

20160710_150236.jpg

Almost finished…next make a meringue by whisking the egg white until its white and fluffy then add the caster sugar a little at a time by folding it in. The test is whether you can hold the bowl upside down over your head…I let my husband try that! Now, I put my meringue in a piping bag and piped it on but you could just spread it on if you prefer. Next time I may be tempted to double the meringue but its personal preference of how much you like on.

20160710_152540

When you’ve topped them all with the meringue place under a medium grill until they start to brown then try to let them cool before you tuck in!

Leave a Reply

