Sweet

Chocolate Chip Cookies

20160717_160405

Despite being a sunny day today I still managed to make a loaf of bread, pitta breads and these cookies. I admit I wasn’t too adventurous with the baking but I didn’t want to spend too long inside – not worth wasting the sunshine as its so rare! For some reason I had the urge to get some white chocolate chips a few weeks ago so thought I may as well get use out of them. This recipe is fromΒ BBC Good Food.

Ingredients

  • 150g salted butter
  • 80g light brown muscovado sugar
  • 80g granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 225g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 200g plain chocolate chip or chunks

Preheat the oven to 190C/170C fan/gas 5. Line two or three baking trays with non-stick baking paper – I used 3 and mine still managed to spread while they were cooking so that they were all attached!

 

For this recipe I just used my hand mixer. First I put the butter and sugars into a bowl and beat them until creamy then add the vanilla extract and egg. When the ingredients are combined, sieve the flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt (I never put salt in but the recipe states to)Β into the mixture and mix in with a wooden spoon then add the chocolate chips and stir again. I used 100g white chocolate chips and 50g milk chocolate as thats what I had in. I found that this was enough though but feel free to use the full 200g.

20160717_195133

 

Next place small amounts of the mixture well apart on the baking trays then bake in the oven for 8–10 mins until light brown on the edges and still slightly soft in the centre. I left mine in for 10 minutes although a couple were quite soft still but this didn’t really bother me!

 

Let the cookies cool on a wire rack and enjoy!Β These are definitely my preferred type of cookies – still soft in the middle but with a slightly crunchy outer shell (if shell is the right term!). I’ll try and be a little more adventurous with my next bake…!

20160717_160447

Leave a Reply

