Savoury

Focaccia

I’ve really been enjoying making my own bread so thought I’d try something new today. I’m aware though that I never revisited my sour dough yet…in time hopefully! I didn’t look too far for this recipe, it’s a Paul Hollywood one from theΒ BBC Food Website.

Ingredients

  • 500g / 1lb 2oz strong white bread flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 sachets dried yeast
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 400ml / 14 fl oz cold water
  • Olive oil, for drizzling
  • Fine sea salt

The above is for 2 focaccias but I halved the recipe as there’s only the two of us. I’ve also just realised whilst writing that I used a tsp of olive oil and not a tbsp…trying to follow a recipe from my phone isn’t ideal!

First put the flour, salt, yeast, olive oil and 300ml of the water in a large bowl and mix with your hand or a wooden spoon. Then knead the dough in the bowl for 5 minutes while you add the remaining water. Now at this point I was concerned with how wet the dough was but I persevered!

Stretch the dough by hand, still in the bowl, by tucking the sides into the centre and turning the bowl slightly between tucks for about 5 minutes.
Tip the dough out onto an oiled work surface and keep kneading for another 5 minutes. I ended up using my bread spatula for this bit as it seemed quite messy at this point and was stuck to my hands. After this put the dough back in the bowl and let it rise and double in size.

Line 2 baking sheets or trays with baking paper, tip out the dough and divide into two portions. Flatten each as best as you can, pushing it into the corners, then leave it to prove for an hour.
Next preheat the oven to 200C / 425F / Gas 7, drizzle the loaves with oil and sprinkle over the salt then bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

When it’s ready, take it out of the oven and drizzle with a little more oil. It’s lovely to eat this warm! It would have been useful if the recipe had mentioned how wet the dough was as I questioned it all the way through. Next time I might try some garlic and rosemary or even sundried tomato and parmesan.

Leave a Reply

