Savoury

Traditional White Loaf

20160814_212743One thing I’ve definitely (finally) learnt about making bread is that if I want it on the day I’m baking it, I need to start early! There have been a lot of late lunches lately due to proving timing issues and yesterday was no exception…My dad gave me this recipe and I’ve found it on Baking Mad. Its for a white loaf although I substituted half the white flour for wholemeal.

Ingredients

  • 12g Dried active yeast
  • 1tsp White granulated sugar
  • 500g Strong white bread flour
  • 1tsp Salt
  • 15g Butter (unsalted)softened or 15ml Oil
  • 300ml Water

First put 150ml warm water (1 part boiling water and 2 parts cold water) in a measuring jug then add the yeast and granulated sugar, whisk it well and leave in a warm place until the yeast froths up about 1 cm (about 15 minutes).

Place your flour (like I said, I substituted half the white for wholemeal but its your choice) and salt into a large bowl then either rub in the butter or stir in the oil. I used oil but I’ll try butter next time and see if it makes much difference. Next add in the yeast mixture and another 150ml of warm water (using the earlier quantities). Mix it together until a soft dough starts to form – I used my stand mixer as usual! Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface then knead until smooth and elastic – mine took just under 10 minutes. When its ready, put it back in the mixing bowl, covered with cling film or a damp tea towel, and leave it in a warm place until its doubled in size – mine went about 4 times the size before I went on to the next step!

Preheat the oven to 230C (210C Fan) / 450F / Gas 8 and lightly oil a 2lb loaf tin. When the dough has doubled in size, turn it on to the work surface again, punch back the dough and knead for another 5-10 minutes. Then shape the dough into a loaf shape, place in the tin then cover with a damp tea towel or oiled cling film and let it rise to the top of the tin.

20160813_125514

When its at this stage, put a sprinkle of flour on the top then bake it in the oven for 15 minutes before turning down the temperature to 200C (180C Fan) / 390F / Gas 6 and cooking for another 15-20 minutes until the loaf is risen and golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped underneath. Mine was in for 30 minutes in total although it does seem to operate hotter at one side then the other! Leave it to cool for a wire rack before slicing.

20160814_212809

As you can see above, mine was a little wonky – I blame the oven! I’ve not tried this for just a white loaf before but it was nice to use a mixture of flours. It had a lovely texture – soft inside but a slightly crisp exterior.

You can also use this recipe for rolls – bake for 15-20 minutes at 230C (210C Fan) / 450F / Gas 8.

Leave a Reply

