Sweet

Healthy Breakfast Muffins

20160821_084703

We’ve been having greek yoghurt and granola for weekday breakfast for a while now and although I’m not fed up of it (which is usually the case eventually), I need something that’s easier for me to take with me when I am out early and travelling for work. So what could be easier than a breakfast muffin! I looked at a few recipes but the one on BBC Good Food appealed the most.

Ingredients

  • 125g plain flour
  • 75g wholemeal flour
  • 200g rolled oats
  • 75g brown sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 2 large eggs, separated
  • 3 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 250ml milk
  • 125g blueberries

Other ideas:

  • 50g currents for a fruity muffin
  • Substitute 50g of the rolled oats for 50g desiccated coconut
  • 50g chocolate chips for a naughty but nice breakfast muffin
  • 50g other dried fruit such as cranberries
  • 50g hazelnuts or other nuts chopped up small

Firstly, combine the plain flour, wholemeal flour, oats (or oats and coconut if using), brown sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt (as always I didn’t actually add the salt) in a large mixing bowl. Once this is done, make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and add the mashed bananas, egg yolks, milk and sunflower oil. Mix everything together with a wooden spoon until a wet batter forms but make sure you don’t over-mix. I suspect this is why it recommends doing all the mixing by hand rather than in a food mixer.

20160821_085122

Next, whisk the egg whites in a separate bowl until you have soft peaks then fold these into the other batter with the blueberries and any other additions until everything is evenly distributed. I didn’t use the ‘other ideas’ on the recipe but I did put 50g sunflower seeds in – you could use whatever you wanted.

 

Divide the mixture between 12 individual muffin cases and place in a preheated oven at 200C / 180C Fan / Gas 6 for 25 minutes until well risen and golden brown. I actually got 16 out of my mixture but admittedly I could have filled them more but I wasn’t sure how much they would rise!

20160821_085152

The muffins will keep for up to 4-5 days in a sealed container but should preferably be eaten on the day or day after baking for a fresher muffin. The muffins can also be frozen – thaw for 1 hour or until defrosted then pop in the oven for 10 minutes to reheat. I’ve had a couple from frozen now and they’ve been absolutely fine! I’ve found these much easier to consume on the go (plus no washing up!) and they keep me full until lunchtime which is no mean feat!

Leave a Reply

