Sweet

Chocolate Guinness Cake

20160821_084830

A colleague brought one of these in a few months ago and I’ve been meaning to try it myself ever since. As it was my friends 10th anniversary at work a couple of weeks ago, she asked for this cake so how could I refuse? This is a Nigella recipe, taken from her website. When I first read the recipe I thought there was quite a lot involved but it was pretty straightforward in practice.

Ingredients

For the cake

  • 250ml guinness
  • 250g unsalted butter
  • 75g cocoa powder
  • 400g caster sugar
  • 142ml sour cream
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 275g plain flour
  • 2½ tsp bicarbonate of soda

For the topping

  • 300g cream cheese
  • 150g icing sugar
  • 125ml double cream (or whipping cream)

Firstly, preheat the oven to 350F / 180C / Gas 4 then butter and line a 23cm / 9 inch springform tin.

Next, on with the making! Put the Guinness into a large saucepan then add the butter (in slices of blocks, not in one go!) and heat until the butter has melted. It didn’t say what heat you needed for this so I just had mine on a medium heat. Once this is done, whisk in the cocoa and sugar until its all incorporated.

20160821_085033

In a separate bowl, beat the sour cream with the eggs and vanilla and then pour into the pan, finally whisking in the flour and bicarbonate of soda until everything is mixed well. Pour the batter into the prepared tin and bake for 45 minutes to an hour. Mine was in for 50 minutes in total. Let the cake cool completely in the tin before you attempt to ice it.

When you are ready to ice, lightly whip the cream cheese until smooth, sieve over the icing sugar and then beat them both together. Or, as I did, do this in a processor by putting the unsieved icing sugar in first and blitz to remove lumps before adding the cream cheese. When these are mixed together (whichever method you chose), add the cream and beat again until it makes a spreadable consistency. I used double cream and was worried at first as it was quite runny but it soon thickened up. Spread the icing onto the top of the cake so it resembles a frothy top just like the drink!

I had such rave reviews for this cake I will definitely have to make it again! Its quite a damp cake but this ensures that its lovely and moist and the icing used is perfect for the cake. I had a little extra mixture which I didn’t think would fit in the tin (mine was 8in, not the specified 9in) so I cooked this separately and had it with cream on. I’m sure if would be nice with custard too. Its quite a chocolatey cake and I couldn’t really distinguish the Guinness but I guess that’s another reason to make the cake again, just for reference purposes obviously…

Leave a Reply

