Sweet

Peanut Butter Cookies

Another request for this weeks recipe. I was quite glad with this one as its relatively straightforward and I didn’t want to be stuck in the kitchen all day – I’d already made granola, a loaf of bread and pittas by the time I started this! This recipe came via a facebook page, Sally’s Baking Addiction, and the recipe link is here. It’s an US recipe so it was in cups and grams but I’ve taken the cups measurements off – not sure if anyone uses these although I do have cup measuring spoons.

Ingredients

  • 310g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 230g unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 200g granulated sugar
  • 150g light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 500g smooth peanut butter
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 270g chocolate chips
  • optional: 65g finely chopped peanuts
  • optional: 100g granulated sugar for rolling

Put the dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt (as always I don’t use the salt!) – together in a bowl and mix together. In another large bowl, cream the butter and both sugars together using a stand mixer or hand mixer on medium speed until smooth. Next, add the eggs and beat on high speed until combined then add the peanut butter and vanilla, then mix on high until combined. At this point you will likely need to scrape down the sides of the bowl! Add the dry ingredients that you mixed together earlier to the wet ingredients and mix on low until combined and finally add the chocolate chips (and peanuts if you are adding these although I didn’t). Chill the dough for about an hour in the fridge.

Preheat oven to 350F / 180C and line 2-3 large baking sheets with greaseproof paper or silicone baking mats. I’ve had one of these mats for a few years now although I haven’t used it for a while – maybe because I have to spend the time washing it afterwards rather than just throwing away some baking paper! Now the recipe says to use 3 tablespoons of dough for each cookie but I only did 1 and they were plenty big enough for me but its entirely your choice. Roll the dough into balls and then roll the balls in granulated sugar if you like – I didn’t do this step though. Space the dough balls out evenly on the baking trays and gently press them down to flatten slightly.

Put the trays in the oven for 12 minutes (the recipe recommends 14-15 but mine were a little browner than I wanted) until they are light brown. As the cookies will still be quite soft at this point, let them cool slightly on the trays before you transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

The cookies were lovely! Surprisingly light but still soft and a little crumbly. Given the amount of peanut butter in the recipe I wasn’t sure if the flavour would be a bit OTT but the chocolate chips go really well. I’ve managed to only eat 2 cookies so far….

I baked 2 trays worth of dough and got 24 cookies but I still had loads of dough left. I’ll probably half the recipe next time! The recipe states that you can freeze the dough though so I separated into two batches and did just this – I probably should have actually portioned them out into smaller balls but I’m sure if I let it defrost fully before baking it’ll be fine! I’ll let you know how these turn out!

Leave a Reply

