Savoury

Cheese and Onion Quiche

20160924_172915I inadvertently went a little quiche mad today! Not purposely but the recipe I used massively overestimated the amount of filling so I ended up with one big quiche, one little quiche and a pastry-less quiche! I wondered if maybe my dish was the wrong size but it was as specified for a change although clearly a different depth to the one used in the recipe! The first few recipes I found called for using double cream but I eventually found one which used milk instead which I presume is a little healthier…Anyway, the one I went with was from the Telegraph webpage.

Ingredients

  • 300g shortcrust pastry, home-made (see below) or shop bought
  • 2 tbsp vegetable or cooking oil (I used coconut oil)
  • 6 medium onions, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp chopped mixed fresh herbs (I used dried mixed herbs so used 0.5 tbsp)
  • 6 large eggs
  • 500ml milk
  • 250g mature cheddar cheese, grated

I actually made my own pastry today although I did definitely think about buying it. Mine was done using a food processor as I can never seem to do the ‘breadcrumb’ thing properly – maybe I’m just impatient!

So if you want to make your own pastry, the following makes around 500g:

  • 300g plain flour
  • 150g chilled salted butter, cut into cubes
  • 1 large, free-range egg yolk
  • about 4 tbsp cold water

Put the flour into a large mixing bowl, and add the cubes of butter.

If making by hand: using your fingertips, lightly rub the cubes of butter into the flour until the mixture has the texture of breadcrumbs and no large lumps are left. Tip in the egg yolk and mix in with a knife until the pastry begins to come together. Add the cold water gradually, using just enough so that the mixture forms a dough. Turn it out onto a floured surface and knead the dough lightly, shape into a large ball, wrap in clingfilm and chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

If using a food processor: pulse the flour and butter until the mixture has the texture of breadcrumbs. With the processor on, add the egg yolk and then the water through the funnel, until it all starts to come together. Shape into a large ball, wrap in clingfilm and chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180C / Gas 4. Roll out the pastry on a lightly floured surface so it will fit into the dish with a little excess – about 30cm diameter, 3mm thick, and then line a metal pie dish (24-26cm) with the pastry. Mine was a glass pyrex dish and although the recipe didn’t specify it, I greased it with a little butter. Firstly you need to blind bake the pastry – line the pastry in the pie dish with grease-proof paper or baking parchment and fill it with baking beans or dried rice. Bake for 10 minutes then remove the beans and grease-proof paper and return to the oven for another 5 minutes. Take it out and set aside. At this point my pastry had a couple of bubbles in the bottom so next time I may leave the baking beans in for the full 15 minutes.

20160924_194249

Turn up the oven to 200C / Gas 6. In a frying pan fry the onions in the oil for 10-15 minutes, until they soften and turn golden, then add the herbs. I didn’t have any fresh herbs to hand so I used dried mixed herbs. You’ll then need to let the onions cool for a few minutes.

In a large mixing bowl beat the eggs and the milk, so that the eggs are light and have air bubbles. Add the grated cheese and fried onions and a little black pepper. Pour the mixture into the pastry case and bake for 30-35 minutes, until the filling has risen and is well-browned on top. The centre should have a spring to the touch when you push it gently in the middle.

I had a slight crack in my pastry so unfortunately some of the mixture leaked which I was a little disappointed at. Although surprisingly I didn’t end up with a soggy bottom at the end!

The quiche was lovely and light, both the filling and the pastry which was successfully ‘short’. We had ours with sweet potato wedges and salad – healthy for a weekend tea in this house! I would definitely half the filling next time as there was easily enough for 2 large quiches – you would need more pastry though.

Leave a Reply

