Sweet

Rocky Road

20161002_192914

The rocky road were my second contribution to the Macmillan coffee morning that we held at work. As well as the Lemon Drizzle Cake  I wanted to bring something else which wasn’t too complicated to make. I’ve never made these before but I did look through a few recipes before I settled on this one from Charlotte’s Lively Kitchen which had some useful tips on for some of the ingredients, including the size you should break the biscuits into.

Ingredients

  • 100g / 3.5oz butter
  • 175g / 6oz milk chocolate
  • 85g / 3oz dark chocolate
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup
  • 150g / 5oz rich tea biscuits
  • 50g / 2oz mini marshmallows
  • 50g / 2oz raisins
  • 40g / 1.5oz glace cherries

In a pan, melt the butter, chocolates and golden syrup on a low heat. Once melted set aside 100ml of the melted chocolate mixture to use later, leaving the rest in the pan but turn off the heat. I don’t think I left enough chocolate to one side but I didn’t actually measure it…I know, not like me!

Crush the biscuits into small pieces – don’t completely smash them up – and fold these into the chocolate mixture in the pan. I used plain digestives as I had these in and I’m not really a fan of rich tea biscuits. Chop the cherries and add these, along with the raisins and marshmallows to the pan. One of the first tips from Charlotte is to freeze the marshmallows for a couple of hours beforehand so they will keep their shape once you add them to the chocolate.

 

Put some baking parchment onto a tray (20cm x 15cm) and spoon the mixture onto it, pressing it down until its even. I used my silicone ‘tray’ so it didn’t need lining and it was easier to get out once set!

20161002_163457

Next pour the melted chocolate that was set aside earlier, over the mixture to fill in any gaps. You might need to spread it slightly so its evenly covered. Finally put it in the fridge to set – this will take a couple of hours but try to leave it overnight.

I really liked this rocky road but it was far from the healthiest! It was very sweet so I was glad I cut it into quite a few pieces – definitely worth it though.

Leave a Reply

