Savoury

Yorkshire Puddings

20161021_215856Lets be honest, we’ve all tried to make our own Yorkshire Puddings. I’ll admit, I’ve had a few shockers in my time and tried various recipes and methods. I’m not going to claim I’ve cracked it but the recipe onΒ Jamie Oliver’sΒ website has managed to produce some good results for me so far. As with all recipes, the ingredients are pretty standard:

Ingredients

  • Vegetable oil
  • 2 large free-range eggs
  • 100g plain flour
  • 100ml milk
  • Sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

The first job is to preheat the oven to 225C/425F/Gas 9. Add a small amount of vegetable oil into each compartment of aΒ cupcake or muffin tin – I used coconut oil. I guess you can also use a yorkshire pudding tin – I have one and have tried it before but I prefer smaller yorkshires. Put the tray into the oven for 10 to 15 minutes so the oil gets really hot.

20161021_215624

Beat all the ingredients – eggs, flour, milk and a pinch of salt and pepper – together in a jug until its light and smooth – no lumps allowed!

When the oil / tin has been in long enough, take it out of the oven and pour the batter in quickly and confidently into the compartments – they should start to kind of inflate straight away if the oil is hot enough. Put the tray back in the oven for 12 to 15 minutes or until the puddings are risen and golden.

I had a bit of a nightmare at this point – somehow the oven had overheated (how this happens I’ve no idea) and the oven went off with 5 minutes to go. Luckily I left the door shut to keep the heat in and they still managed to cook through properly. Oh and once it had cooled a bit, the oven came back on. Lucky really as my Sunday roast depended on it!

Leave a Reply

