Savoury

Sandwich Bread Loaf

20161021_220034I’m persevering with making my own bread! This was another recipe from my dad and he’s actually practised with it a few times so come up with some little adjustments which he’s found have worked so I’ll share these with you along the way. Its another recipe from BBC Food website.

Ingredients

  • 20g / 1oz golden syrup
  • 25g / 1oz melted butter
  • 350ml / 12fl oz warm milk
  • 10g / 0.5oz fresh yeast
  • 250g / 8oz plain flour
  • 250g / 8oz strong bread flour
  • 10g / 0.5oz sea salt

First, stir the golden syrup and melted butter into the warm milk – I found a minute in the microwave warmed it enough – until combined. This was where I used the first adjustment – use 300ml milk instead. Crumble the yeast into a large bowl (I used dried yeast instead so a 7g sachet), then pour the warm milk mixture over it and stir until the yeast has dissolved.

Add the other ingredients and mix until a smooth dough forms. I didn’t use any plain flour, rather I used 350g strong white bread flour and 150g wholemeal bread flour. It might be that I use a full half and half flour in the future but I didn’t want the bread to be too dry and heavy. Cover the bowl with cling film and put to one side for 5 minutes.

Lightly flour the work surface, turn out the dough and knead for 10 minutes or until its smooth and elastic. I found this was quite a nice dough to knead, easier than the pitta bread. Return the dough to the bowl, cover with cling film again and leave it in a warm place for about an hour, or until the dough has nearly doubled in size.

20161021_220228

 

While you are waiting for the dough to grow, grease and flour a 12cm x 20cm / 5in x 8in bread tin.

Turn the dough out onto a floured work surface again and knock it back a few times. Divide equally into two pieces and shape into balls. Place the balls side by side in the bread tin, cover with cling film and set aside to rise until doubled in size. I’m not sure why it asked for it to be split into two balls – I did do this but I would rather it be a uniform shape rather than dropping it in the middle so I’ll do it in one piece next time.

 

Preheat the oven to 220C / 410F / Gas 7. If using a fan oven, drop the temperature by about 20C. This is where another adjustment comes in – use 210C for a non fan oven, 190C for fan.

Slash the dough a few times with a sharp knife and put it straight into the oven. After 10 minutes, reduce the heat to 180C /350F /Gas 4 and bake for another 30 minutes, or until golden-brown. The tried and tested adjustments from my dad told me to not change the temperature and to cook for 35 minutes in total. He also removed from the bread tin after 25 minutes and put back in the oven on the shelf for the remaining time. To check the loaf is ready, take it out of the tin and tap the bottom with your – it should sound hollow.

Leave the bread loaf to cool on a wire rack.

20161021_215957The bread had a lovely texture – I think I prefer this to the original loaf I made in an earlier post. The syrup makes it a little sweet but not overly so. Also the crusts were also soft which I prefer – I don’t like them too crunchy but its personal preference!

Leave a Reply

