Sweet

Sunshine Shorties

20161103_204349I stumbled on this recipe a couple of weeks ago when I was trawling through my recipe books trying to decide what to make. I’m glad I did as my husband suddenly declared on Thursday that he had offered up my baking services to make him something to take to work on Friday! Usually I don’t bake in the week as the evenings are short enough as it is but this recipe looked pretty straightforward. Its from a Lisa Faulkner book, Recipes from my Mother for my Daughter but I have found the recipe onlineΒ too. I got the book a few years ago but actually haven’t made anything from it before…

Ingredients

  • 125g / 4oz butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 125g / 4oz caster sugar
  • 1 tsp golden syrup
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp boiling water
  • 125g / 4oz porridge oats
  • 125g / 4oz self-raising flour

Start by preheating the oven to 160C / 325F / gas 3 and grease a baking tray – I just used greaseproof paper instead.

Put the butter, sugar, syrup, bicarbonate of soda and water into a large saucepan and melt. The bicarbonate will cause it to expand and bubble up slightly. Once this is done, take the pan off the heat and pour in the oats and flour,Β stirring them in to combine.


Scoop out teaspoon sized balls from the mixture and put them on the baking tray – making sure you leave a little room for them to spread out. Put the tray(s) in the oven and bakeΒ for 10–15 minutes until browned. I found that mine took about 12 minutes. Take them out and transfer onto a wire rack and leave them to cool.


For some unknown reason I only actually tried half a biscuit before packing them up for my husband to take to work. Bad move as from what I tried they were really light and tasty – apparently his work colleagues agreed! Such an easy recipe to make – will definitely be making more.

2 thoughts on “Sunshine Shorties

Leave a Reply

