Savoury

Tomato and Red Pepper Soup

20161204_211812While the weather is colder and I’m feeling the need to keep warm, I’ve been looking at what soup I can make. I had a similar soup to this at work a few times and it was really nice so thought I would give it a go. I found this recipe onΒ House and Garden.

Ingredients

  • 2tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 large red peppers, seeds removed and roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 600gΒ / 21oz ripe tomatoes, quartered
  • 400gΒ / 14oz tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1l chicken stock or vegetable stock
  • 1tbsp chopped fresh basil, to garnish
  • Extra virgin olive oil, to garnish

I chopped up all the veg before I started so I didn’t have to keep doing it all in between cooking and I could just throw it all in when it was needed.

Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan and fry off the onion, peppers, and garlic for about 5 minutes after which you need to add the fresh tomatoes and cook for another 3-4 minutes.

Add the tinned tomatoes, the stock and 250ml of water. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 30 minutes. I think added this extra water was unnecessary as I found the soup thinner than I would normally make it but its personal preference.

20161204_211737

Take the soup off the heat and allow to cool a little. PurΓ©e the soup in several batches in a food processor or with a hand-held blender. Strain through a coarse sieve and add a little extra stock, if needed. I definitely didn’t feel the need to add extra stock!

Season with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Garnished with the basil and a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil – I actually didn’t have any fresh basil so I left this bit out – bad planning on my part!

The soup was really nice but I think I’d definitely leave out the extra water next time as it was a little thin for my taste. The recipe also mentioned roasting the vegetables so I think I’ll try this for my next batch. Halve the onions, tomatoes and peppers and put on a baking tray, drizzle with olive oil and roast on 200C / Gas 6 for 60 minutes, making sure you turn the onions and peppers once. When they are done, peel the skin from the cooked peppers and tomatoes. I think that maybe this would save some of the issues with the sieving which was a bit of a pain!

Leave a Reply

