Savoury

Roasted Sweet Potato & Carrot soup

20161218_193003

Sorry I’ve been making soup again…I will get back to ‘baking’ soon! I don’t know about you but when its cold outside I really like to make some warming soup and some nice bread to dunk in it. This is a new soup for me but I had sweet potatoes to use up! The photo doesn’t really do it justice and its actually fairly healthy – two of your five a day! The recipe is fromΒ BBC Good FoodΒ where I find a few recipes although I do like to find some individual websites as well.

Ingredients

  • 500g sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 300g carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 onions, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1l vegetable stock
  • 100ml creme fraiche, plus extra to serve

Start by heating the oven to 220C /200C fan / Gas 7 and put the sweet potatoes and carrots into a large roasting tin (I used 2 dishes but not sure how crowded they should be), drizzle with 2 tbsp of the olive oil and plenty of seasoning. Roast these in the oven for 25-30 mins or until caramelised and tender.

 

While the vegetables are roasting, use the remaining 1 tbsp olive oil to fry the onion in a large saucepan over a medium-low heat for about 10 mins until softened. Add the garlic and cook for about 1 min before adding the stock then simmer this for 5 to 10 mins until the onions are very soft.

20161218_192929

 

Let the roasted veg cool a little before adding it to the saucepan and use a hand blender to process the mixture until smooth. Stir in the creme fraiche, a little more seasoning and reheat until hot. Serve in bowls topped with a swirl of creme fraiche and some more black pepper. I failed to manage to swirl my creme fraiche so it was just a spoon of instead!

The soup was very thick so perhaps just add a little more water if you prefer it thinner. It was sweet but I quite liked this – plus I’d expect nothing less from sweet potato and carrot! My husband declared it as the best soup I’ve made so far so that’s good enough for me!

Leave a Reply

