Savoury

Cheese and Onion Rolls

20170108_132100

Its a really easy recipe this week and probably not contributing too well to my healthy eating January….But I’ve been meaning to make these for a while. I’ve made some sausage rolls but fancied giving these a try and they’re really really easy. Now I cheated because I had some shop bought puff pastry to use up but next time I’ll use the one in the recipe which I found onΒ Bake then Eat.

Ingredients

Pastry
  • 175g Plain flour
  • 1 tsp Baking powder
  • 75g vegetarian suet
  • 5-6tbsp cold water
Filling
  • 175g grated mature cheddar
  • 1 small onion, peeled and finely chopped
  • a pinch of salt
  • 0.5 tsp smoked paprika

Preheat the oven to 220C / 425F / Gas 7 and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

Make the pastry first by mixing the flour, baking powder and vegetarian suet in a mixing bowl. Add the water a little at a time, you need just enough water to bring the dough together so it is soft and pliable. Place this one side to rest for a few minutes.

In another bowl mix the grated cheddar, chopped onion, salt and smoked paprika together until it is well combined. I used the food processor grater attachment for the cheese and onion which was so much easier!

20170108_152401

Using the pastry from the recipe, divide the pastry in half and roll out each half into strips measuring around 30 x 10 centimetres (12 x 4 inches) or to whatever size you want really! Brush a little water around the edges, and divide the filling between the two strips. Place it in a line down the middle. Roll the strips along the long edge and cut each roll into 4 to 8 equal sized pieces. I wanted larger rolls so I split my pastry into 4 but still followed the same instruction as with the homemade.

20170108_15244420170108_152514

Pop them on the baking tray seam side down with a little space between each roll, and bake for 12 to 16 minutes. My larger ones took 15 minutes.Β The rolls should be golden brown – you can use an egg wash if you like.

20170108_152537

We had these for lunch straight from the oven and they were lovely but could have done with extra filling, although I can’t take the credit for the pastry on this occasion! I think I’ll look for some alternative recipes though and try these again with some potato in.

Leave a Reply

