Sweet

Healthy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bars

20170226_155821_001

Potentially the longest named bake I’ve done so far! In the interests of trying to find some healthier recipes, and giving my waistline a chance,  I found this recipe. It uses peanut butter and oats and I even used dark chocolate chips. The recipe uses cups rather than grams or ounces so if you don’t already have some, I’d suggest purchasing some of these. I got mine from Lakeland but they’re relatively easy to get hold of now. I did look to covert these to grams but I found that what was suggested on conversion sites didn’t really match to what I got from the cups! Anyway the recipe is from Live Well Bake Often.

Ingredients

  • 0.5 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 0.25 cup coconut sugar (or brown sugar)
  • 0.25 cup honey
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 2 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 0.75 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 0.25 tsp salt
  • 0.5 tsp baking soda
  • 0.5 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350F / 180C then grease and line an 8×8 inch baking tin with greaseproof paper.

In a large bowl, mix together the peanut butter, coconut sugar (I used brown sugar), honey, egg, coconut oil, and vanilla until fully combined. I actually mixed this one by hand, try and get the arms working!

20170226_172722

Add the oats, flour, salt, baking soda and mix again until combined. Add the chocolate chips and fold them into the batter. My mixture was quite stiff at this point which I assumed was right…

Spread the batter into the prepared baking tin and bake for 15-20 minutes in the preheated oven or until the top is set and lightly golden brown. Allow it to cool and cut into pieces.

20170226_17254720170226_172514

I’m not sure if I over-baked these as they were verging on the dry side but they did taste very nice. I can see the appeal of the oatmeal bars as they should keep you fuller (so you need to eat less!) plus I was more than happy to use a recipe with less sugar in than some of the others I come across…

Leave a Reply

