Sweet

Chocolate Rice Krispie Fridge Cake

20170409_194652

I had to make something quick and easy today – the weather was too nice to be stuck inside and lets be honest, I have to make the most of it when living in the North of England! Admittedly I am a little pink this evening… Anyway asΒ mini eggs are everywhere at the moment, this recipe seemed appropriate, and easy to do! This was onΒ BBC Good FoodΒ but also slightly amended on another blogΒ Gillians KitchenΒ and yes I’m a little jealous as hers looks much more professional! I used some of the additions from the second recipe in mine.

Ingredients

  • 300g dark chocolate, broken into chunks
  • 100g butter, diced
  • 140g golden syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 200g digestive biscuits, roughly chopped
  • 100g sultanas
  • 100g Rice Krispies
  • 100g mini eggs or similar
  • 50g mini marshmallows
  • 50g white chocolate, melted (optional)

Start by lining a 20 x 30cm baking tin with parchment paper. Melt the chocolate, butter and golden syrup in a bowl set over a pan of simmering water, stirring occasionally, until smooth and glossy. Now, me being me, I just melted mine in a large pan as I don’t have a big enough heatproof bowl but it still worked out alright! Add the vanilla (I forgot this…), biscuits, sultanas, Rice Krispies and half the marshmallows, and mix well until everything is coated.

20170409_19490920170409_19484220170409_194931

Tip the mixture into the prepared tin, then flatten it all down with the back of a spoon. Add some mini eggs (I used smarties eggs) and the rest of the marshmallows, and put it in the fridge until set. When its hard, you can drizzle all over with the melted white chocolate and set again before cutting into chunks. I cut mine into 24 squares but they are pretty generous.

20170409_194811

This is like a rocky road just with rice krispies and mini eggs added! It was nice tasting and easy enough to make for one of those times when you need a quick and simple recipe. I’ll aim to be a little more adventurous next week whilst its a long weekend!

Leave a Reply

