Sweet

Banana Flapjacks

20170417_133906

I should stop buying big packs of bananas – I’m the only one who eats them so I can never eat then quick enough. Although that means I can bake with them (I hate wasting them!) as the other half actually likes my banana bread, but hates bananas. Men! Anyway I wanted to try something else this time so after scouring Pinterest, I came across a few recipes for flapjack including this one from Netmums which looked pretty simple.

Ingredients

  • 40g butter
  • 60g brown sugar
  • 1 tsp golden syrup
  • 225g porridge oats
  • 50g raisins
  • 2 bananas (ripe), mashed

First line a baking tray – the recipe suggest a 15cm x 20cm / 6″ x 8″ baking tray but I used a foil tray that I got to freeze meals which worked really well – plus one less thing to wash up, bonus! Preheat the oven to 200C / Gas 6.

Melt the butter, sugar and golden syrup over a low heat. Once everything has melted, take it off the heat and add the mashed bananas then the raisins and oats.

Mix everything well together then spoon the mixture into the baking tray. Flatten it down with the back of a spoon then bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until its gone slightly brown.

20170417_133757

Once done, take it out of the oven and leave to cool before cutting into bars.

20170417_133821

Well, I liked these but I think they were too banana-ry for my husband. Plus with raisins too I was probably pushing it! I thought they were a nice change for flapjacks and they felt slightly healthier to me with the bananas and raisins included – not sure how true this is but makes me feel better! Might be one to try with chocolate chips next time or some other dried fruit or nuts.

Leave a Reply

