Sweet

Chocolate Fudge Cake

20170508_200655

Another recipe I’ve been meaning to try for ages after numerous requests for a chocolate fudge cake! I know its risky me trying another big sponge cake but always worth a try, clearly I was feeling daring again. This recipe is from my M&S Baking Bible so I don’t have a link for this one I’m afraid. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed!

Ingredients

Cake

  • 175g / 6oz unsalted butter, softened
  • 175g / 6oz golden caster sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup
  • 40g / 1.5oz ground almonds
  • 175g / 6oz self raising flour
  • 40g / 1.5oz cocoa powder

Icing

  • 225g / 8oz plain chocolate
  • 55g / 2oz dark muscovado sugar
  • 225g / 8oz unsalted butter, diced
  • 5 tbsp evaporated milk
  • 0.5 tsp vanilla extract

As with most recipes you will need to preheat the oven first to 180C / 350F / Gas 4 then grease and line the bases of two 20cm / 8in sandwich cake tins.

You’ll need to make the icing first so place the chocolate (broken into pieces), muscovado sugar, butter, evaporated milk and vanilla extract in a heavy based saucepan. Heat this gently and keep stirring until its melted before pouring into a bowl and leaving it to cool. Cover the bowl and leave the icing to chill for about an hour or until its spreadable – mine took a little over an hour so worth doing this in plenty of time.

20170507_16152320170507_16203920170508_200535

Now you can start on the cake! Beat together the butter and sugar first until its light and fluffy before beating in the eggs gradually. Stir in the golden syrup and ground almonds. Sift the flour and cocoa powder into a separate bowl then fold it into the cake mixture. If it seems a little stiff, my mixture did, then add a little water until its a dropping consistency.

20170508_200455

Divide the mixture between the two tins and then make for 30-35 minutes or until its springy to the touch and coming away from the sides. I always find it hard to gauge chocolate cakes as you can’t really see when they are a golden colour!

20170508_20051920170507_190310

Leave the cakes to cool in the tins for 5 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely. Once they are cooled, sandwich them together with half the icing, then spread the rest on the top or all over the top and sides of the cake.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a cake disappear as fast! I took this into work, although I made sure I saved a piece for my husband or he wouldn’t have forgiven me! I always have the dread that the cakes have been in for too long so they’d be a little dry but these were lovely – obviously the icing helped! Not one for anyone on a diet but hey, we all deserve cake every now and again so it may as well be a chocolate fudge one!

Leave a Reply

