Sweet

Healthy Apple Crumble

20170529_140133 (1)

I was after an alternative for a weeknight dessert that wasn’t too unhealthy but still tasty and came across this. You can make this in advance so it means less cooking on an evening for me which is good as I rarely leave work on time so don’t want to then spend hours in the kitchen. Okay so its not exactly a summery pudding but who doesn’t like apple crumble?! I found this recipe via Pintrest from another blog, Amy’s Healthy Baking. Its an American recipe so I have changed the measurements where I could.

Ingredients

For the topping

  • 75g old-fashioned oats – I used jumbo oats
  • 30g wholemeal flour or millet flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp pure maple syrup, room temperature
  • 21g unsalted butter, melted

For the filling

  • 6 diced red apples – I used Braeburns
  • 2 tbsp cornflour
  • 1.5 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 0.125 tsp ground nutmeg

Preheat the oven to 350F / 180C / 160C Fan, and coat a square 8 inch square dish with nonstick cooking spray. I used a ceramic dish and found that I didn’t need to coat the dish but do what suits the pan you are using.

To prepare the topping, mix together the dry ingredients first – oats, flour, and cinnamon – in a small bowl. Make a well in the centre then add in the maple syrup and melted butter and mix well so that everything is coated and combined.

20170529_121128 (1)20170529_141245 (1)

For the filling, the recipe states to toss the apples with the cornflour, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a large bowl until completely coated before transferring the filling to the prepared dish and topping with the crumble. You should then bake for 50-60 minutes or until the apples are tender.

However, I cooked the apples on the hob for around 15 minutes so they had softened before adding the other ingredients and topping with the crumble. Then I cooked it for 15 minutes and until the topping had slightly browned.

20170529_141156 (1)20170604_20350520170529_141316 (1)20170529_121930 (1)

Let the crumble cool at room temperature before refrigerating for a few hours so the juices thicken. Have alone or with cream or custard – may slightly ruin the healthiness…

We’ve both really enjoyed this healthier crumble alternative – yes you can probably tell that its not a traditional sugary crumble but I would still happily polish off the whole lot, as would my husband I suspect!

Leave a Reply

