Sweet

Lemon Yoghurt Cake

20170625_195721

I’ve just returned from a holiday to Cyprus, hence the lack of blog posts for a couple of weeks so apologies! I’m definitely missing the weather and the lack of work!Β I actually made this before I went away but didn’t get chance to write this up beforehand. I can’t remember what made me make this cake although I do really like lemon cakes, hopefully you do do as I have another lemon recipe to write up. This one was via Pinterest fromΒ The Cafe Sucre FarineΒ and they have a lovely story on their post about the origin of the cake.

Ingredients

For the cake

  • 0.5 cup plain yogurt or Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1.5 cups plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 0.5 tsp salt
  • grated lemon zest, from 1 medium-size lemon
  • 0.5 cup sunflower, grape seed or canola oil

For the glaze

  • 0.25 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 0.75 cup (1 1/2 jars) icing sugar

Preheat the oven to 175C / 350F and prepare an 8-inch round cake tin with butter (or baking spray is recommended by the other recipe) and line the bottom with baking parchment.

In a large bowl, combine the yogurt, sugar, and eggs, stirring until well blended. Add the flour, baking powder, salt (as always I didn’t add this. Do you use salt?) and lemon zest, mixing until its just combined before adding the oil and giving it a good stir. If it starts to seem like its separating, don’t worry, just keep stirring until its smooth.

20170625_13334620170625_133527

Then pour your cake batter into your prepared tin and bake for 30-40 minutes or until the cake feels springy to the touch. Mine took about 45 minutes but perhaps that’s my oven – my cake didn’t look as even (flat?) on top as the one on the Cafe Sucre Famine, did yours?

20170625_13420420170629_210516

Let the cake cool in the tin on a wire rack for about 10 minutes before turning it out. When you’ve turned it out and before it cools too much, combine the lemon juice and icing sugar in a small bowl and stir until smooth. Using a pastry brush, gently pat the glaze all over the cake until all the glaze has gone. Some will drip down but most of it should soak in and I thought the drips looked quite nice! I think my cake cooled a little too much before this step though. Sprinkle some icing sugar over the top, I did, and serve however you like!

I think I may have slightly over-baked mine unfortunately or let it cool too much before I glazed it. It wasn’t dry but I expected it to be more moist with the addition of the yoghurt and lemon glaze. I will definitely give it another try though! Generally though this was nice enough on its own but you could serve with cream or custard.

Leave a Reply

