Sweet

Lemon Meringue Pie

20170806_203155

I’m still yet to get back into the swing of baking since I got back from holidays, not helped by work being hectic! We had this at a barbecue on our first night in Cyprus so I was really glad when my mother in law managed to get the recipe for me and we had to give it a try. So yes, I still manage to bake whilst I am on ‘holiday’! I’ve never made lemon meringue pie before (although I have eaten a couple) but this appears a lot easier than a ‘traditional’ recipe. Its another Mary BerryΒ recipe and one I will definitely be trying again.

Ingredients

Base

  • 75g / 3oz butter
  • 25g / 1oz demerara sugar
  • 175g / 6oz digestive biscuits, finely crushed

Filling

  • 1 x 394g tin of full-fat, sweetened condensed milk
  • 3 egg yolks
  • finely grated rind and juice of 2 large lemons

Meringue

  • 3 egg whites
  • 175g / 6oz caster sugar

Start by getting a 23cm / 9in round, straight-sided or fluted ceramic tart dish, about 4cm / 1.5in deep and preheat the oven to 190C / 170C Fan / Gas 5.

Crush the digestive biscuits first – I did mine by putting them into a plastic food bag and bashing them with a rolling pin. Quite good if you are feeling stressed! Melt the butter in a saucepan, then take it off the heat and stir in the sugar and biscuit crumbs. I didn’t actually put in the sugar as I was told it may be overly sweet. Press the mixture into your dish using the back of a spoon and make sure you bring the mixture up the sides of the dish.

20170714_10344920170806_20294220170714_104441

Next, make the filling. Pour the condensed milk into a bowl, then beat in the egg yolks, lemon rind and juice. You might be concerned about the mixture at this point as it thickens on standing but is loose again once stirred. Its fine though, don’t panic! Pour the lemon mixture into the dish on top of the biscuit base / sides.

20170806_20302120170806_203049

Put the egg whites into a large bowl and whisk them until they form soft peaks. Then start adding the caster sugar a little at a time whilst you continue to whisk at full speed.

Spoon the meringue over the surface of the filling, then spread gently with the back of a spoon to cover the filling to the edges. You can lightly swirl the surface to make it look nice then bake it for 15-20 minutes until the meringue is pale golden. You can finish it off using the grill or even a blowtorch if you like. Once its cooked, leave it to one side for about 30 minutes to give the filling a chance to set slightly.

20170806_203124

I know I should probably give the traditional recipe a try but this one was really good! I’m glad I didn’t add the sugar to the base as the condensed milk in the filling made it sweet enough I think – its personal preference though. Might be good to try with ginger biscuits on the base and lime for an alternative – maybe next weekend!

Leave a Reply

