Sweet

Rolo Cookie Bars

20180402_185634

We had another charity bake sale at work recently so with it being midweek I didn’t want to spend hours in the kitchen after work. Similarly to the Salted Caramel Cookie Bars I made recently, I found these ones on Pinterest too. I’ve not had rolo’s for ages and these seemed a good an excuse as any to have some! The recipe was from Jane’s Patisserie

Ingredients

  • 275g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tbsp cornflour
  • 115g unsalted butter
  • 55g granulated sugar
  • 135g light brown sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 0.5 tsp vanilla bean extract (I used vanilla extract)
  • 4 tubes of Rolos
  • 100g milk chocolate chips

I actually froze my Rolo’s for a couple of hours first to see if that helped to hold their shape a little rather than just melting. Its up to you though if you want to try that or just throw them straight in.

When you are ready to start, grease and line a 9 in x 9 in tin and preheat your oven to 190C / 170C Fan.

In a bowl, mix the flour, bicarbonate of soda and cornflour together before melting the butter in another bowl. Add the sugar to the melted butter (I substituted caster sugar for granulated but I’m not sure if this would make a big difference) and whisk until the sugar dissolves before adding the egg and vanilla. You can do this by hand if you fancy a workout but otherwise use an electric whisk or stand mixer.

20180402_152502

Add the flour mixture, Rolo’s (apart from one tube) and the chocolate and stir this together until you have a cookie dough consistency. I was worried it seemed a little dry but you can always add a little milk to help.
20180402_15274820180402_152925
You’ll need to turn this into the pan you prepared earlier and press it down evenly, pushing it into the sides and corners. Take the Rolo’s you held back and push these into the dough – depending on how bad your OCD is, you can do this evenly or roughly place them. I tried for something in the middle!
20180402_19414320180402_194130
Put this into the oven for about 25-30 minutes (mine took 25) before removing and leaving to cool. The recipe says to look out for the top of the cookie mix looking ‘dry’. Once they’ve cooled down cut into as many (or as few) as you like!

These were really nice and I think they disappeared the quickest from the sale table. Its a nice change to a traditional cookie but still simple and fairly simple to make, especially if time is an issue. I’m getting a bit too into these cookie bars though, I can feel my waistline expanding….

Leave a comment